women's hockeyThe Chase for the Isobel Cup Resumes Saturday

January 29, 2021by win


Boston and Buffalo to meet in best-of-3 series to declare fourth Semifinalist;
Top seeds Minnesota, Connecticut, and Toronto to battle for playoff position

LAKE PLACID, NY, January 29, 2021 – National Women’s Hockey League action resumes on Saturday, Jan. 30 with an intense battle for position in the 2021 Isobel Cup Playoffs.

 The Boston Pride and Buffalo Beauts will begin a best-of-three series with Game 1 on Saturday at 3 p.m. EST to determine the fourth seed in the playoffs. Game 2 is on Sunday at 3 p.m., and a deciding Game 3, if necessary, would be on Monday at 8:30 p.m.

 The teams have been seeded based on their winning percentage in the first week of the season in Lake Placid. The Minnesota Whitecaps earned the top seed, followed by the Connecticut Whale at No. 2, and the Toronto Six at No. 3. Beginning Saturday at 6 p.m. with a game between Minnesota and Toronto, the top three seeds will face each other to determine their position for the Isobel Cup Semifinals. Points are not cumulative from the opening week of games. 

All games on Saturday, Sunday, and Monday will be on Twitch.tv/nwhl. The Isobel Cup Semifinals on Thursday, Feb. 4, at 5:30 and 8:00 p.m. and Isobel Cup Final on Friday, Feb. 5, at 7 p.m. will be broadcast live by NBC Sports on NBCSN for the U.S. viewers and on Twitch for international fans. All games take place at 1980 Rink-Herb Brooks Arena in Lake Placid. 

National Women’s Hockey League Schedule (all times EST)


Saturday, Jan. 30 

            3:00 p.m. – Buffalo Beauts at Boston Pride (Game 1 of best-of-3 series) 

            6:00 p.m. – Toronto Six at Minnesota Whitecaps  

Sunday, Jan. 31  

            3:00 p.m. – Boston Pride at Buffalo Beauts (Game 2)

            6:00 p.m. – Toronto Six at Connecticut Whale

Monday, Feb. 2 

            5:30 p.m. – Connecticut Whale at Minnesota Whitecaps

            8:30 p.m. – Buffalo Beauts at Boston Pride (Game 3, if necessary)

Thursday, Feb. 4 – Isobel Cup Semifinals 

            5:30 p.m. – No. 4 Seed at No. 1 Seed

            8:00 p.m. – No. 3 Seed at No. 2 Seed

Friday, Feb. 5 – Isobel Cup Final 

            7:00 p.m. – Winners of the Semifinals; higher seed designated home team  

About the National Women’s Hockey League (NWHL) 

Established in 2015, the NWHL was the first professional women’s hockey league in North America to pay its players. The mission of the league is to fuel the continued growth of the sport and brand of pro women’s hockey. The league is made up of the Boston Pride, Buffalo Beauts, Connecticut Whale, Metropolitan Riveters, Minnesota Whitecaps, and the Toronto Six. Visit NWHL.zone and follow on Twitter and Facebook @NWHL and Instagram @NWHL.zone


Source link

All rights reserved Explosive Female Hockey Development Inc. 2020