April 22, 2021by win


Winners to be Unveiled April 28 Live on “NWHL Open Ice” on Twitch

April 22, 2021 (Brooklyn, N.Y.) – The National Women’s Hockey League today announced finalists for five major individual awards for the 2021 season with top candidates nominated by a selection committee of media and broadcasters representing all six NWHL markets plus national contributors.

The NWHL will honor excellence on the ice and in the community with the unveiling of award winners, as determined by the media selection committee, in a special edition of “NWHL Open Ice” on Twitch hosted by Katie Gaus that will stream live at twitch.tv/NWHL on April 28 beginning at 7:00 p.m. ET.

MVP: Most valuable player

Jillian Dempsey (Boston Pride)
Kaleigh Fratkin (Boston Pride)
Mikyla Grant-Mentis (Toronto Six)
Christina Putigna (Boston Pride)

Defender of the Year: Most excellent performance by a defender

Shannon Doyle (Connecticut Whale)
Lindsay Eastwood (Toronto Six)
Kaleigh Fratkin (Boston Pride)
Mallory Souliotis (Boston Pride)

Goaltender of the Year: Most excellent performance by a goaltender

Elaine Chuli (Toronto Six)
Carly Jackson (Buffalo Beauts)
Amanda Leveille (Minnesota Whitecaps)
Lovisa Selander (Boston Pride)

Newcomer of the Year: Most excellent performance by a player competing in their first full season in the NWHL

Sammy Davis (Boston Pride)
Mikyla Grant-Mentis (Toronto Six)
Carly Jackson (Buffalo Beauts)
Haley Mack (Minnesota Whitecaps)

Denna Laing Award: Awarded to the player who most exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to her sport

Jillian Dempsey (Boston Pride)
Shannon Doyle (Connecticut Whale)
Brooke Stacey (Buffalo Beauts)
Saroya Tinker (Metropolitan Riveters)

Given the uniqueness of the 2021 campaign, performances across all regular-season games in Lake Placid, as well as playoff games in Boston, could be considered by the selection committee.

Additional honors including the NWHL Foundation Awards, Fans’ Three Stars of the Season, and an assortment of player-selected recognitions will also be announced on April 28.

About the National Women’s Hockey League (NWHL)
Established in 2015, the NWHL was the first professional women’s hockey league in North America to pay its players. The mission of the league is to fuel the continued growth of the sport and brand of pro women’s hockey. The league is made up of the Boston Pride, Buffalo Beauts, Connecticut Whale, Metropolitan Riveters, Minnesota Whitecaps, and the Toronto Six. Visit NWHL.zone and follow on Twitter and Facebook @NWHL and Instagram @NWHL.zone.

Media Contact

Paul Krotz




Source link

All rights reserved Explosive Female Hockey Development Inc. 2020